Early Education Program Grants (EEP Grants)

Purpose

In 2022, the Alaska Legislature passed the Alaska Reads Act, establishing the Early Education Program Grant (EEP Grant). The purpose of the EEP Grant is to support school districts as they develop or improve classroom based early education programs for four-and five-year old students. Grantees work towards implementing the Early Education Program Standards with the intent to qualify for formula funding by the end of the three-year grant cycle.

Grant Structure

- Three-year grant cycle
- \$3 million total, per year, funded by legislative appropriation

Eligibility

Any Alaska school district is encouraged to apply if it:

- Wants to develop or improve a classroom based early education program;
- Has an insufficient number of children attending high-quality childcare programs (i.e. Head Start agencies); and
- Has consulted with all high-quality childcare programs (i.e. Head Start agencies) operating within the school district boundaries [Sec 14.03.410(c)].
 - o See Form <u>#05-24-031</u> for consultation guidance
 - o Head Start Consultation Technical Assistance Webinar recording
 - o Head Start Consultation Technical Assistance Webinar PowerPoint

Determination of Recipients

- Competitive grant with scoring rubric
- Priority given to the lowest performing school districts according to DEED's accountability and performance system [Sec 14.03.410(c)]

Current EEP Grant Recipients

July 1, 2023 - June 30, 2026	July 1, 2024 - June 30, 2027
Denali Borough School District	Alaska Gateway School District
Galena City School District	Northwest Arctic Borough School District
Hydaburg City School District	
Iditarod Area School District	
Kake City School District	
Kuspuk School District	
Lower Kuskokwim School District	

Application Materials and Resources

Application materials and resources will be posted here in Winter 2026. This will include links to forms and scheduled webinars.

Application Timeline

The next request for Early Education Program Grant applications will be released in Spring of 2026 and will cover the period from July 1, 2026 - June 30, 2029.

Please contact Jayne McFarland at <u>jayne.mcfarland@alaska.gov</u> or (907) 269-7974 for additional information.